San Blas Islands

I recently visited the San Blas Islands in Panama. My grandmother’s family is Panamanian, therefore I have visited the country a few times. However, this mini two day getaway marked my first visit to the Atlantic side. San Blas has to be one of the most beautiful places I have seen.


We orangized our trip through “San Blas Tours”. I normally am not one for tour guides, but this was a different experience. Our tour guides were locals to the islands and really showed us their way of life. We spent the days island hopping on a small motor boat. Some of the islands were as small as ten feet wide.



When it came time for our first lunch, the guide said, “We will be right back. We are going to go pick up lunch.” Little did I know that they literally went to fish our meal. Talk about fresh! I don’t think I’ve ever eaten so much lobster in small amount of time.


My favorite spot of San Blas was in the middle of the ocean. We stopped the boat where there once was an island. This allowed for a small area of shallow land surrounded by miles of deep sea. In this shallow area we found starfish and sand dollars. It was an incredible feeling being out in the water. This was a true definition of “the middle of no where”.



If you decided to visit Panama, give yourself a day to visit San Blas. This is an experience you won’t want to miss!

Xo, Steen

