The Purple Mint

 

The Purple Mint is a vegetarian Vietnamese restaurant in the Grantville neighborhood of San Diego, CA. This place is a hidden gem. I discovered the restaurant driving by on my way to work. I decided to try it out of curiosity, especially because the area lacks healthy nearby food options. Purple Mint is in a typical shopping center with the common donut shop and Subway next door. I never expected the interior design to be so cute when entering. There is a bridge over a mini pond filled with Koi as you walk in, as if you are entering a garden.

  

The combination of distressed woods, green topiaries, and an overall light palette makes the space feel airy and refreshing. There are multiple unique touches that really define the space. These include light fixtures, a variety of mirrors, and Asian inspired accessories.  I also love all the furniture in the space, especially the raw wood x-back bar stools.

Not only is this place adorable, but the food is delicious! The Purple Mint has quickly become one of my go-to lunch spots. I recommend this whether or not you are a vegetarian. My favorite dish is the Kung Pao “Chicken”. It has the typical spice, but it is not overwhelming. It’s served with white or brown rice and broccoli. I order a Thai Iced Tea every time I go. It’s to die for! One of my coworkers also likes the strawberry lemonade.


Xo, Steen

