Madison On Park

One of my favorite things about living in North Park of San Diego is how easy it is to get other neighborhoods. I often walk to Park Blvd of University Heights for the restaurants and shops. Madison’s signage caught my attention as I walked down the street, while they were still under construction. I immediately followed them on instagram. I waited eagerly for them to open as I saw the design progress through their instagram feed. Tonight, I finally made it there for dinner & cocktails!

Lately, I’ve felt like the industrial style has taken over restaurant design. However, Madison’s combination of raw materials stood out from the crowd. Incorporating cedar walls, geometric patterns, and bright colors at the entry point screamed my style. Wired partitions kept the space open and fresh, yet still allowed privacy in between booths. This definitely makes the bar area able to transition from dinner to nightlife easily. The round pendant lights in front of pops of color gave the space a hint of retro mod. This was a refreshing contrast to the booming industrial style.

 

Not only did I love the design of Madison, but also the food and drinks were to die for. For cocktails, I tried the Scofflaw(pictured below) and the Vieux From Above. If there’s tasty whiskey cocktails, that means I’ll definitely be back! For dinner, I suggest ordering a few different things with a friend. I was able to try the tuna tartare, chopped salad, and the half chicken. I was impressed with how fresh everything tasted. Also, there wasn’t an overload of carbs compensating for the main dish. You really get what you’re ordering here. I felt satisfied and still healthy after dinner, which tends to be hard to come by!

(Tuna Tartare pictured above)  

I highly recommend checking out Madison On Park! I know I will be back soon. For more information, please visit their website here.

Xo, Steen

