Rock This Town

15

Mixing modern day fashion with vintage inspired elements has always been my go-to style. Although I tend to wear more 60’s/70’s clothing, it was the 50’s style that captured my attention. My parents were in the swing dance scene and would drag my brother and I along with them to different dance and music venues. I remember looking up at all the girls with their rockabilly hairstyles and 50’s clothing and thinking, “I want to be like her one day.” A few years later, I got a hold of my dad’s Stray Cats (an early 80’s rockabilly revival) CD & never looked back. I have to admit, over fifteen years later, I still listen to that album on repeat.

 22 21 1916

For this look, I mixed the rockabilly style that kick started my love for vintage with modern day clothing. My modern elements are an Urban Outfitters black and white geometric skirt paired with an American Apparel black leotard. I wore a pair of espadrilles that are reminiscent to the 1950’s, but are a new take on the style. To really capture the rockabilly essence, I wore a bandana in my hair. Other accessories I added are vintage Bakelite bracelets, red sunglasses, and white & gold earrings. This outfit is very versatile and comfortable. It is perfect for a day out in the sun, whether it be brunch, a barbecue, or just roaming the town with friends.

1814 12

9 4

Get the look:

Black & White Geometric Skirt by Urban Outfitters(Get similar here.)

Cotton Spandex Tank Bodysuit by American Apparel(Get it here.)

Black Espadrilles- Market Find in Provence, France(Get similar here.)

Vintage Bakelite Bracelets(Get similar here.)

Red Cateye Sunglasses by Kate Spade(Get similar here.)

The Perfect Red Lipstick by Kate Spade(Get similar here.)

White & Gold Earrings by Kate Spade(Get similar here.)

Black Bandana from La Loupe Vintage

13 17 11 10

We’re gonna rock this town
Rock it inside out
We’re gonna rock this town
Make’em scream and shout
Let’s rock, rock, rock, man, rock
We’re gonna rock till you pop
We’re gonna rock till you drop
We’re gonna rock this town
Rock it inside out

-The Stray Cats

8 6  3

Xo, Steen

