A Touch Of Mexicana

The Mexicana style has always been an eye-catching look with its vibrant colors and intricate details. My mom is from Mexico, so, in a way, I have a tie to the Mexicana style. The hand embroidery pillows, dresses, and an assortment of fabrics are very impressive. After a trip to San Miguel de Allende, Mexico, my mom brought me back some goodies. These included two gorgeous pink embroidered pillow covers. I was instantly anxious to be able to incorporate them into my apartment. My home has an eclectic vibe with touches of mid-century mod and glam. The space has pops of pinks throughout, so these pillows were perfect!

14468237_947620712010548_7241316831370250088_o

I transformed the second bedroom in my apartment into a home office with a day bed, so that it can still function as somewhat of a guest bedroom. The day bed is actually an old school European single sleigh bed. I gold leafed the frame and upholstered the mattress in a faux ostrich pink leather. For throw pillows, I had three different small pillows that all had some marble print(From Society6). I have been thinking that they were too small for the bed, but once I added my new Mexicana pillows, they look perfect! I love that all of the pillows are different, but connect either through the marble print or pink colors. This really stays true to the eclectic vibe of my home.

Processed with Snapseed.

Processed with Snapseed.

Using vibrant colors and exciting furniture and accessories is a great way to make a rental feel more like a home. Although you may not be able to paint your walls or choose your flooring in a rental, you’d be surprised how much decor can transform your space! It’s always important to make your space speak to you. For design services on your rental or full-scale home project, please email me at designandsteen@gmail.com.

Processed with Snapseed.img_9353

Xo, Steen

