Tiki Time in the Desert

Processed with Snapseed.

Palm Springs has been my family’s getaway spot since I can remember. I love everything about Palm Springs, from the dry desert heat to the mid-century gems. The retro vibe you get while you’re there steals my heart. Walking down the street and seeing vintage cars and mid-century furniture galore is heaven. Palm Springs also has an awesome vintage tiki scene. Last Saturday, we all went out for dinner and drinks. In my family’s fashion, we had to go to a tiki bar before and another after. We started at Bootlegger Tiki, had dinner at Dish, and ended the night at the Tonga Hut.(Stay tuned for upcoming blog posts on these spots!)

Processed with Snapseed.

I took advantage of the night and wore one of my new vintage tiki dresses! This dress is perfect for transitioning into fall. Although it stays warm in Southern California(especially in the desert) this time of the year, part of me craves fall fashion. I love that this dress is still cool for the dry desert heat, but the colors add a fall feeling. It has black, white, and warm tan color. The print is unique as it comes off as a mod print, but when you take a closer look it is comprised of Birds-of-paradise. I paired my outfit with black platforms, a custom tribal necklace, and a 1940s alumesh purse with a soft yellow handle. The necklace, by Cruel Love, is very eye-catching. The artist, Christina DiCandilo, makes one of a kind pieces. For this piece she used vintage celluloid tribal mask cabochons fastened to a hand carved & stained leather shield. She then accented the pieces with 1940’s raw brass.

cruellove1

cruellove2

Get the look:

Custom Vintage Tribal Necklace by Cruel Love

Vintage Tiki Dress- Find similar on Etsy

1940s Vintage Alumesh Purse by Whiting Davis – Get similar here.

Black platforms by Target- Get similar here.

Hair by Christina DiCandilo at Cut Hairdressing

Processed with Snapseed.

Xo, Steen

