Sunny Jim Sea Cave

Being a tourist in my own hometown is one of my favorite things to do in sunny San Diego. Yesterday hit almost 80 degrees, so I knew I needed to be outside and explore. My boyfriend and I decided to check out Sunny Jim Sea Cave in La Jolla. 

To get to the cave, you have to go through a shell shop above. It’s five dollars to enter, but totally worth it. I felt like I was in an Indiana Jones movie as I walked down the steep stairs. At the bottom of the stairs, there’s a wood deck to stand on in the cave. The waves came crashing in! I’ve kayaked around the La Jolla caves before, but I loved getting to look out to the ocean from within Sunny Jim Sea Cave. It was a great experience and a fun new adventure in San Diego. 

Being the early risers that we are, we ended up getting to the store before they opened. However, this worked to our advantage as there are breathtaking views and a nice path to walk on right there. I actually recommend getting there early. It was nice being the first ones in the cave and experiencing it without a crowd of people. 

For this sunny day, I put together a cute causal outfit. I love that this outfit worked for exploring the caves, but also transitioned perfectly for a nice lunch. I wore a flared gray skirt, which was a must in the heat. My red converse made climbing down to Sunny Jim Sea Cave easy, but kept my outfit stylish. Sometimes it’s just not the day for running shoes, you know? My Frida Kahlo tank top had pinks and reds that tied in my converse. I decided to go with the pops of red and added my red cat eye sunglasses and a vintage red sweater. 

Get the look:

Flared gray skirt by H&M

Frid Khalo tank top- San Miguel de Allende, MX market find

Red chucks by Converse

Red cat eye sunglasses by Kate Spade

Black Fringe Purse by Barney’s New York

Red Sweater- Vintage Find

Bracelets by Marc Jacobs


Xo, Steen 

